My Books

Here is the current list of books in publication – with those in the works added as they get closer to the finish line.

 

Staring Into Darkness:

Dark and instantly compelling tales you won’t be able to put down!

What are you afraid of?  You might just find it here in this book.

Come, take a walk with me. This won’t be an easy journey and it might even hurt, but you need to see what’s at the end. Take my hand, I’ll lead you, but be warned, the path is dark and these stories have teeth.

On this dark and eerie trip through a forest of nightmare fears, you can’t stop the delightfully diabolical stories that transform the everyday into the horrific.

13 items for your reading pleasure that take things as simple and banal as a yard sale find, two brothers enjoying a beer together, and even a family dinner on Thanksgiving and drag them straight through hell. Hold on tight, keep your eyes open, and try not to scream . . . it makes them more hungry.

From the award winning author of Macabre Menagerie comes another group of disturbing stories you won’t be able to put down!  Based on the fears sent in by fans of Clark’s work, you just might find your own fear lingering between the pages.

Reviewers say:

“These are chilling, creepy, engrossing tales with a touch of surprise and humor, humor at least to my (twisted) mind. The people who inhabit these stories are almost recognizable. (Perhaps I have been associating with the wrong folks.) You may not be a fan of horror, but I’ll bet you will like these strange, ghoulish, grisly stories. To some, they may even satisfy their lust for the macabre.” Robert Krueger – Amazon Reviewer

“From a collector of baseball cards at a yard sale to a Thanksgiving dinner, the reader is transported to some dark places. They are well written and all have a definite ‘end’ to them.” USN Chief, Ret..VT Town – Top 500 Amazon Reviewer

” Author Clark is quite good at establishing mood and character with some very descriptive and imaginative writing” Silver Screen – Blog writer

“This collection of short stories is like a roller coaster ride through a haunted house, you expect things to jump out and try to “get” you, but you are never quite sure when it will happen or what it will be.”  Hoptabs – Blog writer


A Brighter Light:

With all of the new changes in Cassie’s life, she has had to rely on the wisdom of Allie, her cat, as well as her own instincts to not only accept the upheaval, but to use her new abilities to help the desperate spirits around her. When Zeb enters her life, he already somehow knows her secret, but he has a secret of his own. With his help Cassie will discover new talents as she is thrown head first into amazing and sometimes frightening situations in order to find closure and justice for those without a voice. Is there more to Zeb than meets the eye? Does it have something to do with the incredibly strong attraction that seems to be growing between them? Like moths to a flame, the ghosts of Kensington Falls are flocking to Cassie for help, but can she give everything she’s got to helping the dead and still keep her own life intact?

Come dive into the second book of the New Sight paranormal mystery series and witness the struggles, joys, and sacrifice of one young woman as she fights for answers and justice for the dead.

Hailed as:

“Completely New Concept”

“Recommended to Fans of Paranormal, Mystery, Thriller and Suspense genres”

“A Brighter Light is definitely an excellent read, and I am looking forward to more adventures of Cassie and Allie in book 3”

“I loved this book!


Opening the Veil:

When Cassie agrees to go on a date with her gorgeous new neighbor, she doesn’t expect the night to end with a glimpse into eternity. Within twenty-four hours she discovers not only are young women being brutally murdered around her beloved town, but an ancient evil is using her new neighbor like a puppet to do the killing. Knowing the police won’t believe her without solid proof, she makes it her mission to find the evidence they need. Add to that how her cat has started talking to her, plus she’s seeing ghosts that want her help, and it’s no surprise that she’s beginning to question her sanity. Will she be able to help the living and the dead and not end up another victim? She’ll need to learn fast if she wants to survive in one piece.

This is the first book in the New Sight Series – a paranormal mystery series about a young woman whose eyes are opened to the hidden world around her and her compulsion to help the dead seek answers and justice.

Hailed as:

“Imaginatively entertaining with light humor and a quickening pace, C. L. Clark’s interesting new twist on paranormal fantasy is the start to a series that readers will not want to pass up.” – Reviewer
“Opening the Veil’ with the various genre elements from its start succeeds to keep reader’s attention, delivering an exciting story, likeable and believable characters, mostly the leading duet, put into a well-conceived world. Therefore, C. L. Clark’s novel can be recommended to fans of paranormal, mystery, thriller and suspense genre that want to read something from still not so known author, that may, judging by this book, soon change.” – Amazon Reviewer

“This is a very good book, with a unique plot, and even more unique characters” – GoodReads Reviewer

Ms. Clark has created a heroine and sidekick that you will want to return to again and again.” – Amazon Reviewer


Macabre Menagerie:

Want a creepy, edge of your seat, off-kilter, and disturbing group of stories? Look no further!

This is where I peel back the edge of everyday reality and expose the sordid, disturbing, and otherwise unpleasant parts that lurk just beneath the surface. Take my hand, I’ll guide you. . .

12 stories, in the same vein as The Twilight Zone, that will make you squirm, cringe, and see the world in a darker, more disturbing way. A roller coaster ride of twists, turns, and thrills that are guaranteed to stay with you long after the stories end.

Reviewers say:

“The author’s ability to transform the character and scene, and make it as if the reader is actually experiencing what’s going on in the story is incredible. So is the immense amount of intricate detail author C.L. Clark packed into character development, scenes, and dialog. The most amazing thing about this collection of short stories is that each is only 10 pages. The author has truly upped the standard of talent it takes for writers to create such work, and the ability to pack so much detail into so small a space is impressive.”  Michelle Robertson – Reader’s Favorite.com – 5 Star Review

“… a delightfully dark group of stories that start off innocently enough and then go strange on the reader.  Clark’s writing is smooth and polished, and the stories are highly atmospheric with just slightly heard mocking laughter in the background.  Macabre Menagerie is most highly recommended.”  Jack Magnus – Reader’s Favorite.com – 5 Star Review

“We meet different uglies in different forms as we wend our way through these spooky stories. It’s not so much ghosts and haunting as it is real people in unreal, surreal situations where reality is just a little off kilter. The antagonist could be just a shadow. Or a computer. I hesitate to say too much, because part of Ms. Clark’s skill as a writer lies in her ability to refrain from telling the reader too much too soon; each story is a little path to some discovery, and it’s fun to be surprised. Like riding a roller coaster in the dark, you never know where the next turn, twist, or drop will be. With some stories, you have to wait until the very last sentence or two for the denouement.”  4 out of 4 stars – OnlineBookClub.Org


https://read.amazon.com/kp/card?asin=B00NKYJ996&preview=inline&linkCode=kpe&ref_=cm_sw_r_kb_dp_4ly3yb4105QB3&tag=adarrev-20

Survival of the Fittest:

One tragic childhood night, Gillian lost her father and her sight in a horrific accident. Blind and bereft, she was forced to endure the suffocating control of her over-protective mother until the day she was old enough to break free. With Garrett, her beloved Seeing Eye dog, at her side, Gillian made a simple, yet independent life for herself in a California coastal town. Strong of faith, lighthearted, and graceful, Gillian has never had reason to fear anything . . . until now.

A madman bent on ridding the world of “defects” has set his sights on Gillian. As he begins his horrific game of cat and mouse, each act of terror meant to break Gillian down, he must struggle with his own inner demons to hold himself together. Destroying Gillian may be the only way he can gain salvation . . . or at least lie to himself that he isn’t falling apart and becoming a defect himself.

Rye, the homicide detective assigned to the case, wants nothing more than to catch the crazed killer who targets the handicapped. That was until he met the latest victim. Falling in love was never part of the plan. Now he must protect the only woman who ever captured his heart and stop the killer bent on her destruction, before it’s too late.

Reviewers say:

“Witness the Birth of a Writer that could have done the “The Shining” – The Kindle Book Review

“Great story, very well written. Had me hooked from the first page. Looking forward to the next book.” – Amazon Reviewer

“This is a great thriller with a horrible villain,a wonderful resilient hero and all the excitement and terror you could want. I hope to read more from C.L.Clark!” – Amazon Reviewer

Great premise and character development. The writer kept me completely involved as the story developed. Can’t wait to read more!” – Amazon Reviewer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s